The 8th Annual ISFFH Closes with Filmmaker Awards

IMG_0463 (1024x768)

The 8th Annual International Student Film Festival Hollywood (ISFFH) drew to a close on Sunday, November 14, 2010 at Beverly Garland’s Holiday Inn in the NoHo Arts District of North Hollywood.  More than 30 awards were presented to the top filmmakers this year. The Festival received submissions from junior high, high schools, colleges, universities and private film schools worldwide, including South Africa, Sweden, New Zealand, Israel, Greece, Germany, France, Czech Republic, Colombia, Canada, Australia and the USA.

Each year the ISFFH acknowledges those who are successful in the film industry for their contributions. This year screenwriter Iris Yamashita was presented with the Award of Excellence for her work. Iris Yamashita is a Japanese American screenwriter who won a Golden Globe award for her screenplay, Letters From Iwo Jima.  Directed by Clint Eastwood, Letters was also nominated for 4 Oscars.

Filmmakers and guests were honored with a surprise appearance by famed Actor Ed Asner during the awards ceremony. Mr. Asner spoke to the audience sharing his experience in the industry and gave congratulations to Iris Yamashita for her award. He then presented the award for Best Documentary; Denialism: the Death of AIDS Directed by Nicole Zwiren and narrated by Mr. Asner.

ISFFH 2010 awards were Best Junior High School Claymation: The Lost Shadow directed by Jared Harris; Best Junior High School Animation: The Adventures of Mr. Toast: Episode 1 “The Adventure to Become Toast”directed by Theo Godfrey-Cass; Best Junior High School Documentary: Mr. Rudkin: Our Hero directed by Shane Spicer and Emily Ioannides; Best Junior High School PSA: Prescription Drug Abuse PSA directed by Gabe Wheeler and Jacob Wheeler; Best High School Experimental: Charlie directed by Trevor Wilson; High School Most Socially Relevant Drama: Someone to Love Me directed by Gabriella Evans and Trevor Wilson; Best High School Suspense/Thriller: Visage directed by Andy Touchton; Best High School Drama: Coming to Terms directed by Toby Wosskow; Best High School Comedy: Bodice Rippers directed by Elle Gold; Best High School Musical: Decision Day: The Musical directed by David Harris; Best High School Animation: Matajuro’s Training directed by Noah Schneider; Best High School Claymation: Bears directed by Brady Serwitz and Max Maddox; Best Foreign Language High School Documentary: Silence Breaking directed by Omri Edri and Ina Pigalchuk; Best Foreign Language High School Drama: Rubik’s Cube directed by Lital Glam; Best Foreign Language Comedy: Ride Out directed by Bar Akiva and Michal Tafla; Best Foreign Language Period Piece: Altona directed by Hugo Lilja; Best Foreign Language Drama: Quan directed by Karzan Kader; Best Animation: Bob directed by Jacob Frey and Harry Fast; Best Documentary: Denialism: the Death of AIDS directed by Nicole Zwiren; Best Action: Palm County directed by Nick Erickson; Best Horror/Thriller: Clemency directed by Joseph Albanese; Best Suspense/Thriller: Andre directed by Christopher Fernandez; Best Dark Comedy: ROADKILL directed by Justin Yngelmo; Best Comedy Short: La La Love You directed by Max Sokoloff; Best Comedy: Melting The Snowman directed by Ora Yashar; Best Comedy Drama: T.V. directed by Nick Conedera; Best Children Comedy: She’s a Fox directed by Cameron Sawyer; Best Children Drama: Kid’s Court directed by Kelvin Redvers; Best Period Piece Drama: The Last Bogatyr directed by Sarah R. Lotfi;  and Best Drama: Between the Shadows directed by Zac Petrillo.

Congratulations to all of the ISFFH participants! You are the future of the industry.

The ISFFH is a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting the next generation of filmmakers, please visit the ISFFH website for more information on this important event and to support the festival

We thank the following sponsors for supporting the next generation of filmmakers. American Building Supply, Wells Fargo, CRA/LA, CISCorp, Saban Enterprises, Marilyn Bradbury, Rotary Club of Studio City and Sherman Oaks, Gloria and Lou Weintraub, Creative Handbook, Actors Certified Training, Footage Firm,, LA411,, Movie Magic,, and

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.