Student Filmmakers Received Awards at the 13th ISFFH!

Awards were presented to the top filmmakers at the 13th annual International Student Film Festival Hollywood (ISFFH)! The awards ceremony took place at The Beverly Garland Theatre in North Hollywood on Sunday November 15, 2015.

IMG_0203Actor and stuntwoman Spice Williams-Crosby received the ISFFH Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to the industry; Spice has worked in such feature motion pictures as Star Trek V, Cherokee Kid, From Dusk Till Dawn, The Guyver, A Simple Plan, and For the Love of the Game.

IMG_0283Twenty four awards were given to some of the top student filmmakers from around the world. Hua-Ling Liao from the Kun Shan University in Taiwan took home the Grand Jury Award for “Unforgettable” – a telling drama depicting the tragic effects of Alzheimer’s not only on the person with the disease, but those around them too.

Congratulations to all of the ISFFH participants! You are the future of the industry.

ISFFH 2015 awards Best Junior High School PSA – Safe Driving Save Lives directed by Charlie Cracknell from GEMS World Academy,UAE; Best Junior High School Horror Thriller – Monster in the Closet III directed by Aiden Sand and Oliver Abrams from Lora Batchelor Middle School, USA; Best Junior High School Documentary – A Journey to Auschwitz  directed by Lizbeth Funkhouser and Megan Brown from Lora Batchelor Middle School, USA;

Best Junior High School Music Video – Goodbye Love directed by Hank McWatters and Emma Spresney from Lakewood Christian Schools, USA; Best Junior High School Drama – See You Soon directed by Sara Ghadban from Millikan Middle School, USA;  Best High School Drama – The Unexpected directed by Meredith Wells from The Buckley School, USA; Best High School Sci-Fi – Intergalactic directed by Kevin Douglas and Jeremiah Blackman from Green Mountain High School,  USA; Best High School Dark Comedy – Ten Seconds directed by Jake Moody from Viewpoint School, USA;  Best High School Comedy – Devon Bright and the Sensitive Boys directed by Olivia DeLaurentis from Agoura High School, USA; Best High School PSA – We Are Human, We Are Loved directed by Carla Rita from Farrington High School, USA; Best High School Experimental – Somnium directed by Emmett Sparling from Rockridge Secondary, Canada; Best High School Animation – Fate directed by Lai Ki Lam and Yee Ting Wong from Shun Tak Fraternal Association Yung Yau College, Hong Kong;

Best Foreign Language High School Action – Red Collar directed by Amit Fidelman from Ironi-Hey High School, Israel; Best Foreign Language High School Drama – Alex, Daphi and Me directed by Eyal Shpater from Ironi-Hey High School, Israel; Best Foreign Language High School Documentary – Dancing Towards Happiness directed by Shunyao Zhang from Moreau Catholic High School, USA; Best Foreign Language Fantasy – CAN be a Good Day directed by Yu-Shan Lai from Chaoyang University of Technology, Taiwan; Best Foreign Language Drama – Cocoon directed by Jimmy Hsu and Shu-Ting Liang from Taipei National University of the Arts, Taiwan; Best Animation – The Whisper directed by Kai-Huei Li National Yunlin University of Science and Technology, Taiwan; Best Digital Animation – Codey directed by Wei-Chung Lai

National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan; Best Experimental – Merry Go Round directed by Heather Chen from New York University, USA; Best Psychological Thriller – Narcolepsy directed by Jordan Roman from Elon University, USA; Best Fantasy – Awaken directed by Bruce Sze Han Chen from New York Film Academy, USA; Best Drama – Our Little Secret directed by Carissa Kacmarek from Columbia College Chicago, USA and Grand Jury Award – Unforgettable directed by Hua-Ling Liao from Kun Shan University, Taiwan.

We are grateful to our supporters and sponsors who help make this event possible each year, including,, Variety411, American Building Supply, Wells Fargo, Footage Firm, Video Blocks,, Movie Magic, Empire Grip, and

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.